Raison d’etre

I start this blog today, Sept. 24, 2007, because I find that I have so much to say but I often don’t want to say it to anyone in particular.  There are times when I just want to vent, or be introspective, and don’t really want to deal with the fallout of airing my schizophrenic thoughts to someone else.  I guess this is why people keep diaries or journals, but this sounds somewhat girly so I’d rather use the euphemism of a blog.  I think Doogie Howser would have done the same were he around in this era.

Writing this blog is a catharsis for me because beyond venting my frustrations it helps me organize my thoughts.  This allows me to address my concerns rather than let them fester without applying any logic to the problems at hand.  So, there is a method to the madness.  However, I’d like to keep the madness visible to myself as much as possible.  Hence, I will keep my identity anonymous and will indulge in zero marketing effort.  I suspect this should achieve my goal of keeping this blog with a readership of one.

There are many blogs in this world today, 70 million as of July 2006.  Given an internet population of ~1B people that’s roughly 10 people per blog.  [1,2]  Of course, the distribution is skewed towards the most popular blogs and I’m sure there are several thousand, maybe even a million, blogs that have readerships of just one.  So, my goal should not be too hard to achieve.

Of course, having no readership means there is a risk of variable quality in the posts but I hope I can police this aspect myself adequately.

One vow I make is that I will update this blog at least once a week, every weekend.  This commitment is important in part to not let the blog atrophy but also because the process of self discovery is long and takes a concentrated effort.  I am excited and humbled to begin this journey. 

[1] http://www.blogherald.com/2005/07/19/blog-count-for-july-70-million-blogs/

[2] http://www.internetworldstats.com/stats.htm

~ by author on September 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

